Main content starts here, tab to start navigating

Tacolicious: A BFF to Both Celiacs and the Gluten-Free

At Tacolicious, we do everything we can to accommodate our guests, especially when it comes to allergies. Ask for something without dairy and we’ll gladly skip the sprinkle of cotija cheese or the squiggle of crema. Cocoa intolerant? We’ll suggest a double shot of tequila for dessert instead of churros with hot chocolate.

Kale salad: Just one (very healthy) gluten-free option.

Kale salad: Just one (very healthy) gluten-free option.

But if you’re living life gluten-free for health purposes or you’re a bonafide celiac, we are the restaurant for you. About 80 percent of our menu is gluten-free. (In fact, if you follow us on Instagram, we’re doing a #14daysglutenfree slideshow just in time for the new year.)

The truth is, Mexican food is built this way. (Ever wonder how the Mayans had the energy to erect the pyramids? Now you know.) You can blame the Europeans for showing up in Mesoamerica with the hedonistic stuff like meat and cheese and the Spaniards for showing up with wheat. Mexican food, at its ancient core, is a wholesome cuisine made from a base of corn, beans, tomatoes, squash, avocado, and chile peppers. And let me tell you, a corn tortilla is inherently more delicious then some weirdly crumbly, lab-conceived gluten-free sandwich bread.

Though we do have some dishes obviously made with wheat (flour-and-beer battered rock cod tacos, churros, empanadas, the occasional flour tortilla), the majority of our menu is good to go for those generally avoiding gluten—from the chips to the tortillas to the tacos to the salads, soups and veggie sides.

However, if you’re a celiac—which we recognize is a much more serious proposition—here’s what we can offer you. Please make sure to note that you are a celiac and not simply “gluten-free” to our server so they can alert the kitchen.

Celiacs, call ahead to ask for our corn tortillas to be cooked on a gluten-free surface.

Celiacs, call ahead to ask for our corn tortillas to be cooked on a gluten-free surface.

Gluten-free items that are always on the menu. These items don’t include soy, wheat (or other grains that affect celiacs), beer, chocolate (which can have a bit of gluten), and are made on a gluten-free surface.
• Three salsas (our signature table tomato-mint salsa; avocado-tomatillo salsa; habanero salsa)
• Guacamole
• Marina Girl salad
• Roasted beet salad
• Kale salad
• Skillet-roasted mussels
• Rancho Gordo black beans
• Semi-traditional refried beans
• Rice-o-licious
• Flan

These dishes, which must be cooked on a gluten-free surface or modified, are available upon special request.
• Grilled squid Veracruz
• Camarones al diablo
• Seasonal side of veggies
• Tacos, including carnitas, seasonal vegetarian, rock cod (order grilled instead of battered and fried), nopales and Oaxaca cheese, filet mignon, weekly taco (at times it will have gluten, please inquire)
• Brunch items (weekends only) including our huevos rancheros and bistec con huevos (please request refried beans in place of the drunken beans which contain beer)

Beans and rice, so nice.

Beans and rice, so nice.

And chips!
Our tortilla chips are gluten free at all of our locations except our Chestnut Street location which doesn’t have the space for a fryer dedicated just for chips. If you happen to end up at this location, we can warm up soft corn tortillas instead.

To inquire further about our gluten-free options for our restaurants, catering, and special events, contact us at info@tacolicious.com and follow us on Instagram.